How will I pull this off?

Maui

A couple walked into the Gallery with a peachy-white cockatoo perched on the wife’s shoulder. Thea and Bruce Berg had come in to commission a painting of their bird named Maui who had become like a child to them. I took photos of Maui as Bruce and Thea tried to pose her and fluff her so I might capture her at her best. Like a child, Maui turned shyly from the camera, climbed up Thea’s arm and spun upside down clutching to her sleeve. At one point, Bruce offered his hand and Maui stepped onto it. Bruce flung his arm into the air with the bird clutching for dear life. Maui balanced herself by puffing up and I took a wonderful photo of her.

After reviewing the options, Bruce and Thea chose a 30 by 40” canvas for the portrait and I wondered how I’d fill that large space with one peachy-white bird. As the Bergs left the Gallery, Thea handed me a bag of Maui’s feathers for color reference and then headed home excited, as I was, wondering how the painting would unfold.

When I told my husband, Miro, about the project and showed him the bag of feathers, he suggested I incorporate them right into the painting. What a personal element that would add! I proposed the idea to the Bergs knowing they would love it, and, in fact, Thea suggested that I also incorporate shell from Maui’s first egg into the painting. Now the pressure was on! How to incorporate real feathers and eggshell into a painting and make it all work? To add to the challenge, Thea wanted the background color of the painting to match the decor in their master bedroom where the portrait would hang.

I didn’t have a clear vision of how to proceed, so I just started pasting feathers to the canvas. After Maui’s basic form was sketched in, I painted the background pulling in color from the bedroom scheme. I painted right over the feathers and made them part of the background. I noticed the feathers began to look like leaves, so I further developed that concept. When I was happy with the background, I worked on the bird, hoping to capture the glow of light that passed through her delicate light feathers. Then… what to do with the precious eggshell that Thea had so carefully preserved for 22 years? I thought at first I’d crush it into tiny bits and fling shards onto the painting like glitter. But then I realized I could scatter the pieces on the branch and they would give dimension to the bark. A perfect solution!

Sometimes I toil over and adjust a painting and have to change and fix it multiple times, but Maui came easily and was right the very first time. Something magical happened along the way, and as I finished the final touches on her regal feathers, the beautiful peachy-white bird came to life. When we unveiled the painting in the Gallery, Thea gasped and held her hand over her mouth, and Bruce actually broke down and cried. No greater satisfaction for an artist than when a painting moves someone to tears. Then I know I have done my job.

I am thankful to Maui and the Bergs for the opportunity to honor this special bird and to create one of the most enjoyable paintings I’ve ever done.

About madarasgallery

Artist Diana Madaras who says painting "fills me with joy" is equally well known for her bold, colorful artwork as for her generous charitable giving. Diana owns Madaras Gallery in Tucson, Arizona, featuring her work and the art of 26 guest artists. She is president of the nonprofit Art for Animals Foundation, a charity she founded in 1999 that has raised over $200,000 for animal causes in Southern Arizona. Madaras is a colorist who celebrates the subtle, natural beauty of ordinary scenes in a way that is both intense and dramatic. She paints in both watercolor and acrylic and has a diverse portfolio - from brilliant desert landscapes to expressionistic portraits. A signature member of the Southern Arizona Watercolor Guild, Madaras has been featured in over 20 one-woman shows and her art has hung in the Tucson Museum of Art. She was named the featured artist of the Empire Ranch 100 Show in 2009. Much in demand for commissioned artwork, Madaras has completed paintings for Westin, Loews, and Miraval resorts. She also has created eight paintings for the estate of the former President of Mexico. Her painting, The Blues at Old Main, was commissioned for the cover of the University of Arizona alumni magazine and her art has appeared on the covers of 6 other magazines, as well, including Art Book of the West and Tucson Lifestyle Magazine. Madaras is very active in community service and her art has benefited more than 100 charities. "I believe that when you have a wonderful, fortunate life, it's important to give back and help others who need a hand up," she said. In 2008 her art show African Sojourn raised $80,000 for charity. The show followed a safari to South Africa and Botswana, a trip the artist describes as an unforgettable adventure. "If I can help animals and people through my art, there's nothing better." As a board member of the Boys and Girls Club, Madaras donates thousands of dollars worth of paintings and art gifts to the organization's annual auction. Her art calendar benefits animal causes, and in 1999 the foundation named her Philanthropist of the Year. In 2000, the Rotary Club of Tucson honored her with its Four-Way Award, the highest honor given to a non-Rotarian for community service. Madaras was named Woman of the Year by New Beginnings for Women in 2003, and in 2009, she received the Wells Fargo Copper Cactus Award- one of Tucson's highest honors for community service. Madaras was voted Tucson's Best Visual Artist of 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2009. Dozens of newspaper and magazine articles have been written about her and her work, and she has been featured on television shows produced by NBC, CBS, and PBS affiliates. Madaras earned a master's degree from the University of Arizona in 1977. Before opening her art galleries, she operated a high-profile sports marketing company in Tucson, promoting major sporting events including LPGA and PGA golf tournaments. A month-long painting trip to Greece in 1993 changed her life, prompting her to sell her marketing company and devote her career to painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How will I pull this off?

  1. B. says:

    loved the way maui turned out! Gorgeous color combinations! Fantastic work!

  2. Carolyn Keenen says:

    That is a stunning portrait… and the creativity you incorporated demonstrated not only your talent but your sensitivity~

  3. Dorothy Lawrence says:

    The bird is gorgeous! Congrats! I am so proud of you! Love, Mom

Leave a comment