First Prized Possessions in 1993—A life-altering trip to Greece

by Diana Madaras

Back in Tucson at an art store, the clerk helped me gather the painting supplies I needed. In college, I had painted with acrylics, so this watercolor medium I wanted to try was new to me.

Then I bought a Metropolitan Museum of Art calendar and began copying works of the Masters. I fell in love with Winslow Homer’s watercolors. I pulled out a few photos from Exuma, Bahamas where my family had vacationed, and replicated scenes from the island. I converted my living room into a studio and painted with the ottoman as my easel, while the TV tray was perfect for brushes, paint, and water.

During an LPGA committee meeting, I told Chuck Albanese, one of the board members, I was working on a painting of Tucson’s San Xavier Mission. In addition to volunteering for the golf tournament, Chuck was a professor of architecture and also a painter. “Why don’t you bring your painting to my house this weekend and let me see what you’re doing,” he offered.

On Saturday morning, I was excited to show Chuck my masterpiece, but when he saw the painting, he asked incredulously, “Is this watercolor?”

“What do you mean?” I asked nervously.

“You have enough paint on here for five paintings,” Chuck declared.

I was crestfallen.

“You are using watercolor like acrylic,” he said.  “Let’s go out back and I’ll show you how to paint a watercolor wash.”

Chuck devised a makeshift studio on the picnic table in his backyard and laid out enough supplies for both of us. Side by side, we painted watercolor washes. He made a stroke and I copied him. Two hours later, we each had a watercolor painting of a little Greek house with purple shadows on the steps. Enthralling!

“You know, my wife Claire and I take a group of U of A students to Greece every summer to paint for a month,” Chuck told me. “Want to go with us this year?”

madaras photos130

Claire and Chuck Albanese

“A month?” I said. “I can’t leave for a month. I have a husband and a business and five cats!”

But Chuck was relentless. “I saved a space for you on the trip,” he’d say every time I saw him. “Take another look at your calendar. You work so hard, you deserve a little time for yourself.  Diana, you need to do this.”

His words helped me justify the trip. I did work hard and I wanted so badly to learn to paint like him. And even though I practiced for hours at home, I just couldn’t get the washes to look right.

When I looked at my tournament schedule, I realized summer was actually a reasonable time to leave town. My husband didn’t object to my going, and my staff promised to handle everything at the office. So off I went with one backpack filled with art supplies strapped on my front and a larger one on my back with clothes and sundries. When I finally climbed into both packs, I looked like a pregnant humpback whale.

On this “student economy trip,” I knew we’d have to walk for several miles with all of our gear. The maximum weight of the packs couldn’t exceed 30 pounds and that included the art supplies. Only 30 pounds for a month-long painting trip? What girl could do that?

madaras photos129

Preparing for Greece

I bought mini-sized everything and packed and repacked a dozen times before I could finally whittle my stuff down to 30 pounds. And no hairdryer!

Our first day in Athens, we hiked the hill to the Acropolis. Incredibly, tourists could still walk among the ruins of the Parthenon just as the ancient Greeks did thousands of years ago.

We sat on stone steps and sketched the crumbling walls of this magnificent structure. The following day, we traveled by bus to Epidaurus and sketched ruins all day. Back in Athens that night, a group of women from the local education committee hosted a dinner for us with a lecture—so proud to share their heritage.

The next morning, we toured the public market, but the foul odors and the sight of fly-infested carcasses hanging from hooks made me ill. I waited on a side street until, as a group, we moved on to the National Museum. “So when do we paint?” I asked Chuck impatiently as we walked to the museum. I had one precious month to learn to paint; one week was already gone. Sensing my frustration, Chuck took me with him to the Plaka shopping area later that afternoon. “Let’s paint this scene,” he said as we sat at an outdoor table and ordered a frappe.

I looked down the avenue at the buildings and trees and light posts and shoppers on the sidewalk—and felt overwhelmed.

“How do I get that,” I pointed to the street, ”onto this little piece of paper?”

315608

Diana’s painting done in Chuck’s backyard before the trip to Greece

Chuck explained a few principles of perspective as I watched his drawing come to life. He corrected the lines on my drawing and filled in some of the missing pieces. I made notes in my sketchbook and hung on Chuck’s every word. By sundown, I had a facsimile of the scene. So much to learn!

The next day, we donned our backpacks at sunrise, took a train to the Athens port, and hiked to the ferry. Our line-up of 25 backpack-laden students marching single file through the narrow cobblestone streets of Piraeus looked like ducklings waddling in a row.

Once the ferry left port, I stretched out on a bench and fell asleep. Between the I0-hour time difference and the noise from the motorcycles that raced up and down the streets all night, I hadn’t slept for seven days.

That afternoon we pulled into the island of Sifnos. The trail of ducklings slowly climbed the hill to our quaint blue-and-white hotel where we settled in with our roommates and then ate lamb and fried vegetables for dinner.

The next morning, we all assembled in the town square and watched Chuck sketch and paint the bakery. He used cobalt blue for the windows and purple shadows on the white building. Somehow, he made the colorful cobblestone streets appear three-dimensional.

Finally, our turn. I sat in the shade of an olive tree, dipping my brush into water and paint, living the enchanted life of an artist! I finished my watercolor by noon and couldn’t wait to start the next one.

Di paints (3)

Diana painting in Greece

During the afternoon, we painted on our own. I found a charming scene through an open gate with pots on the porch. I sat on the edge of the sidewalk and set up my paints. The owner of the house noticed me and came running out with freshly baked cookies and iced tea, feeling honored I’d chosen to paint her home.

Back at the hotel, I propped up my finished watercolor paintings on the desk so I could study them-my prized possessions.

“Thar’s a little gem,” Chuck said pointing to my courtyard painting during the group critique. My heart soared.

Our next stop was the island of Paros, where Chuck and I spent the afternoon in a Greek café painting a table and chairs. As long as we ordered an occasional Greek coffee, the shopkeeper didn’t mind.

Di Greek table (3)

Diana showing her work in Greece

Chuck helped me draw the complicated legs under the table and showed me how to make the checkerboard on the blue-and-white cloth. When we finally finished the painting—my favorite of the whole trip—I wanted to start another.

I simply couldn’t get enough. And here, I didn’t have to cook, clean, drive, answer the phone, deal with business issues, or clean the litter box. I could just paint. I was no longer the PGA tournament coordinator or the owner of Marathon Marketing or someone’s wife. I could just be me, and it felt wonderful. Freedom for the first time since I was a kid! Rediscovering my authentic self felt euphoric!

Had I found my place in the universe at last? I wrote this poem in my journal:

Greek Odyssey; I came to find art, but instead I found me

I’m surrounded by nothing familiar

Crooked streets made for donkeys

And white houses with women in scarves.

I smell fried cheese and lamb at the outdoor café

And fish from wooden boats in the bay.

Are nights here so warm or is it hot talk and wine?

It’s been three weeks. I can’t remember the day.

Sunburned layers peel down to

Skin still alive.

No nylons, no TV, no telephone, no lies.

Now that I’m awake it would take

A tar-rolling machine to make me lie down again and sleep.

Most nights, I would have dinner with the college kids, but I craved adult conversation. My favorite dinners took place with Chuck and Claire. We liked to wander down to the water’s edge to watch the sunset, drink wine, then eat a leisurely dinner and talk about the day’s work late into the evening.

My new world had shapes and colors and shadows and dimension. And when l closed my eyes at night, black and white landscapes suddenly rippled with color and morphed into beautiful paintings—all fairy dust by early morning light.

”Ready to paint now?” l knocked at Chuck and Claire’s door at seven in the morning. “The light is perfect!” The sleepy professor rubbed his tired eyes and asked, “How about a cup of coffee first? And breakfast?” I later overheard him say I was the most intense student he’d ever taught.

By week four, we had visited three islands and became entrenched on Mykonos. No tours or lectures were planned for this last leg of the trip, so I could paint all day.

“Let’s take a little break and walk around the town before we go back to Athens tomorrow,” Chuck suggested as he wiped the paint from his watercolor tray. When the shops opened at 4 pm after the siesta, he, Claire, and I meandered through the streets near the port.

Greek Table

Greek Table, by Diana Madaras

Our last stop was a small art gallery with a huge window overlooking the Aegean. The artist/owner sat in a high-backed wooden chair and greeted customers at the door. His paintings of Greek men and fishing boats hung from nails on the wall. “Wow,” I thought. “I want this life!”

“Someday, we’re going to open our own gallery,” I declared. “Chuck and I will paint, and Claire can run the shop.”

They laughed, but the seed was planted.

(Diana returned to Greece with Chuck and Claire in 2018– 25 years later. Read about the great adventure they had in this blog, and see the new paintings created in Greece more than a decade later here and here.)

BOUGAINVILLEA BY THE SEA by Diana Madaras copy

Bouganvillea by the Sea, by Diana Madaras — 2018

 

About madarasgallery

Artist Diana Madaras who says painting "fills me with joy" is equally well known for her bold, colorful artwork as for her generous charitable giving. Diana owns Madaras Gallery in Tucson, Arizona, featuring her work and the art of 26 guest artists. She is president of the nonprofit Art for Animals Foundation, a charity she founded in 1999 that has raised over $200,000 for animal causes in Southern Arizona. Madaras is a colorist who celebrates the subtle, natural beauty of ordinary scenes in a way that is both intense and dramatic. She paints in both watercolor and acrylic and has a diverse portfolio - from brilliant desert landscapes to expressionistic portraits. A signature member of the Southern Arizona Watercolor Guild, Madaras has been featured in over 20 one-woman shows and her art has hung in the Tucson Museum of Art. She was named the featured artist of the Empire Ranch 100 Show in 2009. Much in demand for commissioned artwork, Madaras has completed paintings for Westin, Loews, and Miraval resorts. She also has created eight paintings for the estate of the former President of Mexico. Her painting, The Blues at Old Main, was commissioned for the cover of the University of Arizona alumni magazine and her art has appeared on the covers of 6 other magazines, as well, including Art Book of the West and Tucson Lifestyle Magazine. Madaras is very active in community service and her art has benefited more than 100 charities. "I believe that when you have a wonderful, fortunate life, it's important to give back and help others who need a hand up," she said. In 2008 her art show African Sojourn raised $80,000 for charity. The show followed a safari to South Africa and Botswana, a trip the artist describes as an unforgettable adventure. "If I can help animals and people through my art, there's nothing better." As a board member of the Boys and Girls Club, Madaras donates thousands of dollars worth of paintings and art gifts to the organization's annual auction. Her art calendar benefits animal causes, and in 1999 the foundation named her Philanthropist of the Year. In 2000, the Rotary Club of Tucson honored her with its Four-Way Award, the highest honor given to a non-Rotarian for community service. Madaras was named Woman of the Year by New Beginnings for Women in 2003, and in 2009, she received the Wells Fargo Copper Cactus Award- one of Tucson's highest honors for community service. Madaras was voted Tucson's Best Visual Artist of 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2009. Dozens of newspaper and magazine articles have been written about her and her work, and she has been featured on television shows produced by NBC, CBS, and PBS affiliates. Madaras earned a master's degree from the University of Arizona in 1977. Before opening her art galleries, she operated a high-profile sports marketing company in Tucson, promoting major sporting events including LPGA and PGA golf tournaments. A month-long painting trip to Greece in 1993 changed her life, prompting her to sell her marketing company and devote her career to painting.
This entry was posted in Greece. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment