Life in Balance

“Sorry, Mom” – by Diana Madaras

My life is busy. I run the galleries, develop new art products, meet customers, attend events, and paint. I yearn for quiet and tranquility and a chance to create without interruption; to shut out the noise of my busy world.

“Life in Balance” is just what the doctor ordered, and as I recover from a broken right hand (an artist’s worst nightmare), nothing could be better than a trip to Miraval. Today, for the first time since the accident 32 days ago, I was able to write. I will start painting again this weekend with my right hand.

After the accident, I longed to spend time in my new painting studio at home, so I’ve been painting with my left hand. I thought I would feel frustrated when I couldn’t make the strokes I wanted, but I found the experience to be peaceful and healing, and the paintings that resulted were emotional and satisfying. I was surprised I could do it!

I just finished the second left-handed painting titled, “Sorry, Mom.” Tango looks as if he’s been crying. He was the one who pulled me down in the street when I broke my hand in four places. I know that he is very sorry! I didn’t intend for Tango to seem so sad in the painting. Maybe I am crying through him as I cope with this injury.

When I was asked to join the “Artist in Residence” program at Miraval, I jumped at the opportunity. I will stay at the luxury retreat three times during the next six months and teach several workshops while I am there. It’s an opportunity to recharge and nourish, and then hopefully return more centered and balanced. Sounds like heaven!

My first trip to Miraval in 2000 was just as wonderful as my tenth trip this past May when my girlfriend and I spent the night there for her 60th birthday. On every trip, I’ve come away with new inspiration and insight, and I cannot wait to see what new revelations lie ahead. I am also excited to meet the workshop participants as we share this special journey together.

I will teach two workshops at Miraval and have included a description below. Miraval has been kind enough to give the Gallery an all inclusive one night stay for some lucky customer who enters the contest. Note: If you win, you can come to Miraval any time during the year—it doesn’t have to be during one of the workshop dates. Hope to see you soon and thanks to all of you for sending good wishes and cheer!

Miraval Workshops:

1. Masterpiece Made Easy
You will have the opportunity to create a masterpiece painting while experiencing the joy of immersion in the creative process. Begin with a Diana Madaras 12×16 canvas reproduction and paint on top of it or “enhance” the existing painting. Diana will lead you step by step to enhance the color and depth of the canvas, and you can then add your own creative twist. Sign it and take it home- your own masterpiece to treasure forever.

2. Creating a Mandala
Create your own “Mandala” or carved block through the use of symbols carved within a circle that are meaningful to you. Experience the joy of this ancient art using a soft linoleum block that makes carving easy. Diana Madaras will help guide you in choosing symbols and creating your own personal stamp. After the carving is complete, paint is applied to the block and then pressed onto paper to make a finished piece of art. A mat around the piece gives it a finished professional look to take home and display.

Madaras Workshop Dates: 2012/2013
November 16, 17, 18
January 9, 10, 11
March 6, 7, 8

“Partner in Crime” – by Diana Madaras

About madarasgallery

Artist Diana Madaras who says painting "fills me with joy" is equally well known for her bold, colorful artwork as for her generous charitable giving. Diana owns Madaras Gallery in Tucson, Arizona, featuring her work and the art of 26 guest artists. She is president of the nonprofit Art for Animals Foundation, a charity she founded in 1999 that has raised over $200,000 for animal causes in Southern Arizona. Madaras is a colorist who celebrates the subtle, natural beauty of ordinary scenes in a way that is both intense and dramatic. She paints in both watercolor and acrylic and has a diverse portfolio - from brilliant desert landscapes to expressionistic portraits. A signature member of the Southern Arizona Watercolor Guild, Madaras has been featured in over 20 one-woman shows and her art has hung in the Tucson Museum of Art. She was named the featured artist of the Empire Ranch 100 Show in 2009. Much in demand for commissioned artwork, Madaras has completed paintings for Westin, Loews, and Miraval resorts. She also has created eight paintings for the estate of the former President of Mexico. Her painting, The Blues at Old Main, was commissioned for the cover of the University of Arizona alumni magazine and her art has appeared on the covers of 6 other magazines, as well, including Art Book of the West and Tucson Lifestyle Magazine. Madaras is very active in community service and her art has benefited more than 100 charities. "I believe that when you have a wonderful, fortunate life, it's important to give back and help others who need a hand up," she said. In 2008 her art show African Sojourn raised $80,000 for charity. The show followed a safari to South Africa and Botswana, a trip the artist describes as an unforgettable adventure. "If I can help animals and people through my art, there's nothing better." As a board member of the Boys and Girls Club, Madaras donates thousands of dollars worth of paintings and art gifts to the organization's annual auction. Her art calendar benefits animal causes, and in 1999 the foundation named her Philanthropist of the Year. In 2000, the Rotary Club of Tucson honored her with its Four-Way Award, the highest honor given to a non-Rotarian for community service. Madaras was named Woman of the Year by New Beginnings for Women in 2003, and in 2009, she received the Wells Fargo Copper Cactus Award- one of Tucson's highest honors for community service. Madaras was voted Tucson's Best Visual Artist of 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2009. Dozens of newspaper and magazine articles have been written about her and her work, and she has been featured on television shows produced by NBC, CBS, and PBS affiliates. Madaras earned a master's degree from the University of Arizona in 1977. Before opening her art galleries, she operated a high-profile sports marketing company in Tucson, promoting major sporting events including LPGA and PGA golf tournaments. A month-long painting trip to Greece in 1993 changed her life, prompting her to sell her marketing company and devote her career to painting.
This entry was posted in Painting, Tucson Art Galleries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Life in Balance

  1. I am so glad your hand is healing! I can’t imagine how I would cope if I broke my dominant hand, but you seem to be coping well. I’ve heard that it’s good for your brain to use your non-dominant hand; but it’s also frustrating for me. The painting you did with your left hand is beautiful!!

  2. Dorothy Lawrence says:

    Hi, Diana: Hope you get this e-mail. I think it’s fantastic that you can paint with your left hand! You never stop to amaze me. Much love, your Mom

    On Wed, Oct 3, 2012 at 4:57 PM, Diana Madaras Blog wrote:

    > ** > madarasgallery posted: ” “Sorry, Mom” – by Diana Madaras > My life is busy. I run the galleries, develop new art products, meet > customers, attend events, and paint. I yearn for quiet and tranquility and > a chan”

  3. Jon Ahlgrim says:

    Sorry to hear about your accident and injury Diana. Glad to hear you’re on the mend, yet still be creative along the way!
    Jon, Tina and Niki Ahlgrim

  4. Trish says:

    Love these two new paintings! You give new enhanced meaning to “making lemonade out of lemons”!! 🙂

  5. Virginia Hare says:

    Praises be you are mending and creating as well as healing on your way back to wholeness! I look forward to seeing you the afternoon of October 25 at your Gallery when I am in Tucson again. Can’t wait to view the paintings in your new show!

  6. Lu Salisbury says:

    I am so glad that the healing is going well. You are one amazing woman and an inspiration to me, and I don’t even paint!! Lu Salisbury

  7. Adorable Tango painting! The title is perfect. The Miraval workshops sound AWESOME! Let me know if you need help 😉 Also — Jon LOVES “Barrel Plumes” — he was like “Whoa!”!

  8. Norah Jeanne Dykema says:

    Diana,
    Happy to hear you are healing. Having broken both elbows at the same time when I was 26 years old (48 now), I had to learn how to write with my very non-dominant hand while the elbow was still broken! I am quite certain that it opened neural pathways that would have otherwise remained dormant. That time was quite a lesson and the injuries were true teachers for me and my life at that time. My life blossomed in unexpected ways after the physical healing took place, so be ready!
    Much love and support in your ongoing visions and production of such beautiful art!
    Norah Dykema
    Russellville, Arkansas

Leave a comment